Building Rock Hard Abs

2238667_f520

Alrighty…

Some of you have been emailing wanting to know how cumzit I’ve posted a workout for every body part except one….. ABS.

Ok. Mea Culpa.

I admit it…. I am so very sorry.

Not.

The truth is, although this is a very popular group for people to want to work, most people want to spot tone – and spot toning is more of a myth than that guy who supposedly could spit pumpkin seeds through plate glass windows.

I dunno if they were salted, or no.

However, I will today post an ab workout for y’all who have been clamoring for it. ( ok, maybe clamoring is a little strong of a word…)

Another reason, probably the big one, that I havent posted on this subject before, is the fact that I myself don’t give much of a damn about having a wash board tummy.

You can certainly see my abdominal muscles, but you can’t exactly wash yer laundry on em.

As you probably know, I’m a strength trainer -not a body builder.

I don’t care how purty I am,

I only care about how strong I am.

That being said, I agree totally that abdominals are a very important aspect of core strength, and I work em hard for that reason.

But this workout will not be about that, cause if you’re reading posts on the net about abs, you’re undoubtedly more interested in what they look like.

So, to this end, today I consulted my buddy Brickface, who is a nationally ranked body builder , and has abs you can sharpen your pen knife on.

And he told me what he does, and I’m gonna let you in on it.

That’s just the kinda guy I am.

mmmm hmmm.

He does 6 movements on his AB-Back day having direct impact on his ABS.

All of these, he works 3 sets of 20 – weighted when noted.

Hanging Leg Raises – grab a pull up bar, lift up and bring your legs to an L shape in mid air.
Lower your legs to starting position and repeat. (leg weights)

Crunches – Lie on your back, hands behind your head, bend your knees and raise your legs to a 90 degree position, then curl your head and shoulders toward your knees.

Lying Leg Thrusts – Laying on your back, legs up, thrust your heels, and raise your torso toward the ceiling.

Sit ups – Lying on your back, knees slightly bent, feet on floor, hands behind your head.

High Pulley Crunches – On a pulley machine, kneel, grab the Tbar behind your head, and crunch away. This is ugly to watch… and don’t go ape shit with the weight.

Dumbbell Side Bends – Stand with your feet about a foot apart, one hand behind your neck, the other holding a dumbbell… bend your torso away from the weight bearing side. Alternate.

He also told me to tell ya that if after working these, you’re not feelin the burn, you can repeat the whole deal over again.

He does it several times over some days.

And the results show, no doubt about it.

Me, I got a washing machine.

Leave a Reply

